MC3: Meeting the Climate Change Challenge

In response to the threat of climate change, the province of British Columbia introduced innovative legislation and policy in 2009 that went far beyond those of other North American jurisdictions. To explore municipal approaches and innovative local responses, we identified 11 leading climate innovators in the province as case studies during the first phase of the project (2011-2013). During the second phase (2014-2017), we re-interviewed a sub-sample from our initial case studies to explore how and in what ways their current development paths had changed and their actual GHG reductions. Tap the tiles below to explore our process and research outcomes.

case studies

Learning Exchange

Data Visualizations


Research Team

Dr. ANN DALE, Principal Investigator, Royal Roads University; DR. LESLIE KING, Royal Roads UniversitY; DR. SARAH BURCH, University of Waterloo; DR. MEG HOLDEN, Simon Fraser University; DR. JOHN ROBINSON, University of Toronto; DR. MARK ROSELAND, Arizona State University; DR. ALISON SHAW, FlipSide Sustainability; DR. STEPHEN SHEPPERD, University of British Columbia; DR. EMILY HUDDART-KENNEDY, Washington State UniversitY; AND DR. ALASTAIR MOORE, University of Manchester.


Jodi Mucha, Executive Director, BC Healthy Communities; Ellen Pond, Partner, C2MP Consulting; Jane McRae, CEO, Sustainable Cities International; Maureen LeBourdais, senior manager, Fraser Basin Council; Ben Finkelstein, Manager of Green Communities in The Carbon Neutral Government and Climate Outreach section of the BC Climate Action Secretariat, Ministry of Environment; Cathy LeBlanc, Senior Planner with the Intergovernmental Relations and Planning Branch, BC Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development; Devin Causley, Manager, Climate Change Programs, Federation of Canadian Municipalities; Yuill Herbert, Founding Director, Sustainability Solutions Group; Dr. Marlo Raynolds, Senior Advisor, Pembina Institute; Peter Robinson, CEO, David Suzuki Foundation; Jared Wright, Director of Advocacy and Government Relations, Union of British Columbia Municipalities; Dale Littlejohn, Executive Director, Community Energy Association.